My top 10 christmas movies

10) Bad Santa

This film won’t be for everyone and I didn’t think I would like it when my boyfriend suggested we watched it but I was pleasantly surprised! The world’s worst ‘mall Santa’ and his Elf partner in crime take part in their yearly mall robbery. A young boy comes into Billy Bob Thornton’s life one christmas besotted with the unorthodox Santa. Hilarious and crude in parts, but also heart warming in an unconventional way!

9) The Polar Express

A truly magical animation which transports you to the North Pole. Tom Hanks is the perfect voice of the train conductor!

8) The Holiday

It wouldn’t be christmas without a rom-com to warm your heart!  Cameron Diaz, Kate Winslet, Jude Law and Jack Black star. Two women, fed up with their relationships, swap houses for the holiday season and meet new people who change their lives in this feel good festive film.

7) Arthur Christmas

I only watched this film this year! In fact it was the first christmas movie I put on in November! A modern animated festive tale with an all British cast which is a heart warming and a great modern way to look at the story of Father Christmas!

6) The Santa Clause

Tim Allen stars in this christmas classic where a divorced dad who is looking after his son, accidentally becomes Santa. He tries to deny it, but when he starts putting on an astonishing amounts of weight and grows a huge white beard, it becomes hard to ignore! So be prepared to become a believer!

5) The Muppet Christmas Carol

I was petrified of the book of A Christmas Carol we owned as a child because of an illustration of the grim reaper which I HATED! However, the Muppet version of this story with all its catchy songs helped me get over my fear and fall in love with the meaningful classic tale. Michael Caine is the perfect Scrooge amongst all the loveable Muppets!

4) Love Actually

I love this film all year round but this is defo a must over Christmas! A romantic comedy with SO much heart. It follows several stories over the weeks leading up to Christmas. Everyone can relate to at least one story; from the heartbreaking to the heartwarming and a hilarious few minutes of comedy gold from Rowan Atkinson!

3) Home Alone

It wouldn’t be christmas without watching Home Alone! Such an iconic Christmas Film about a child who accidentally gets left home alone when his family go away for christmas. Young Kevin gets up to all sorts of mischief when burglars try to break in… Macaulay Culkin was a child hero in the role! I also think Home Alone 2 is fab and love that it is set in New York!

2) Elf

I think this a favourite for many people! You can’t help but fall in love with Will Ferrell’s Buddy the Elf and his hilarious and heart warming story when he searches for his father in New York at Christmas.

1) Mickey’s Once Upon a Christmas

A lot of people might not know this film but for me, this is a childhood favourite which I watch every year with my best friend Emma. There are 3 different short stories with the classic Disney characters (Mickey, Minnie, Goofy, Donald Duck etc) and each has a moral about the true meaning of christmas. This brings a tear to my eye every christmas as it is SO cute and makes me appreciate what christmas should really be about.

What is your favourite Christmas film?!

Marcella x

2 thoughts on “My top 10 christmas movies

Leave a Reply

