Being a little more patient

We don’t like waiting. We feel annoyed if we have to wait for more than 2 minutes for a tube (even when we’re in no real rush, let’s be honest). We decide to get in shape for our holiday and feel frustrated when we haven’t immediately dropped two dress sizes and got a six pack after eating half an avocado and going to one spin class. We are forever wishing for our day off/weekend/holiday to come around quickly.

I had an epiphany the other day whilst being stuck in bed for what felt like the thousandth day in a row. After not being very well on and off over the past few months, I was feeling down and I thought about what was actually causing this. And then it hit me. I was frustrated with my situation because I wanted to get better instantly.

This is a similar feeling I encounter during my monthly “what am I doing with my life” breakdowns (I’m a massive drama queen, I know). I feel frustrated because I want to immediately star in a big budget film/ perform in the West End/ have 10,000 YouTube subscribers.

But these things aren’t going to come quickly or easily. As an actor, you are often told to be patient. That you may have to wait years until you “make it”. But what a lot of people forget to say, is that if you are patient, you might actually enjoy what is happening RIGHT NOW. Why would you want to wish your life away when the space between what is happening currently and your end goal could in fact make up some of the best moments of your life. And if not, you need to make your own happiness. Using that time to do things you wouldn’t be able to do if lets say, you already had your dream job. If I was a busy working actress jumping from filming to rehearsals constantly I wouldn’t have as much time to spend with the people who I love. And these are the people who make me happiest. Going on holiday and seeing more of the world is a huge passion of mine, and I only discovered it and have time to do it BECAUSE I’m not tied down doing my dream job yet.

So if we start accepting and embracing the time it takes for the things we want to happen, we can find other hidden gems in our life which we may otherwise hurry past. There is a quote which goes something along the lines of this:

life is about the journey, not the destination.

Maybe these should be the words to live by.

Marcella x

 

2 thoughts on “Being a little more patient

Leave a Reply

